Skip to content
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt

Nominations for the EURORDIS Awards 2017 now open!

September 2016

Last year’s Patient Organisation Awardees

EURORDIS is now accepting nominations for the 6th Annual EURORDIS Awards! This is your opportunity to nominate the individual, rare disease patient organisation or company that you feel is making a difference to the rare disease community.

The EURORDIS Awards are a unique opportunity to recognise and honour the exceptional contributions made by the patients, leaders, policy makers, scientists and companies who work relentlessly to reduce the impact that rare diseases have on millions of people.

Beverly Searle, CEO of Unique, the Rare Chromosome Disorder Support Group, and recipient of the EURORDIS Patient Organisation Award 2016 commented, “We were delighted to win the award in recognition of over 30 years of global work to support, inform and network with families affected by rare chromosome disorders and with professionals and researchers.  It is critical that Unique, families and professionals work in synergy to improve understanding and care management of these often devastating conditions. The award helps greatly to raise awareness of our work and the challenges rare chromosome disorders present.”

Submit a nomination for any or all of the following categories:

  • European Rare Disease Leadership Award
  • Policy Maker Award
  • EURORDIS Volunteer Award
  • Scientific Award
  • Patient Organisation Award
  • Company Award
  • Media Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Read the nomination criteria and fill out the nomination form  (deadline 31 October 2016).

Awards ceremony

The winners will be announced at the EURORDIS Awards Ceremony on 21 February 2017 in Brussels, held in celebration of Rare Disease Day 2017.

Grab your popcorn! You can take part in the action on the night by watching the Awards Ceremony for free via a live web stream on

More information about the awards:

Any questions about the awards? Please contact Sharon Ashton:

Eva Bearryman, Communications Manager, EURORDIS